How do I permanently disable Google Photos pop-up prompt to backup my photos?

dt3ft 27 points 9 comments August 13, 2026
support.google.com · View on Hacker News

Discussion Highlights (6 comments)

dt3ft

Older people (seen it at 65+) will just click the nag without knowing what the button does and end up beaming up all photos to google cloud with no ability to disable the nag (it keeps showing up after a while) even when dismissed. If you are concerned about your data privacy, you may want to check on what photos of say your kids your parents are beaming up to google without their or your knowledge.

novia

The answer in the thread (which is quite hard to find) is to use the Google Photos app without an account. The app has some very nice features that are locked behind account access though.

rootsudo

I wonder why google locked it..

netsharc

Ah, bigcorp with the Pick-Up Artist model of consent: keep asking until they relent. I find Google Photos asks me once every update. I got a Pixel 9 with 1 year of free Gemini Pro (or whatever version it is, their offering almost feels like Windows 7 Home Enterprise Ultimate), but because of their nagging about the backup I loathe to give them money to subscribe to Gemini beyond that. I have a Google Pixel 1 I got from eBay, with "lifetime free photos backup", sitting plugged in on a shelf. Every evening my main phone syncs photos I take on it to my NAS, and another app copies the images from the NAS to that Pixel phone, which then backs it up to Google Photos... it's my finger to Google for being the enshittfiying assholes they are

speedstyle

I use Ente photos [0] without logging in, just as a local gallery. Since their backup solution is E2EE, it does everything on-device – face/object search, map view, memories [0] https://ente.com

nubinetwork

One benefit of having a Samsung, you can uninstall google photos and still be able to use your camera.

Semantic search powered by Rivestack pgvector
4,128 stories · 37,281 chunks indexed